CIPCast Logo

CIPCast is the podcast series of Zurich University’s Center for Intellectual Property and Competition Law (CIPCO). In discourse with national and international experts, the podcasts address hot topics in competition and intellectual property law – a concise, profound update for academics and practitioners alike.

 

The whole podcast series is available at:

CIPCasts

 

Our latest CIPCast:

March 1 2022

Our second CIPCast deals with the proposal for the implementation of the Motion Français ("The revision of the Cartel Act must take into account both qualitative and quantitative criteria") in the context of the planned partial revision of the Cartel Act. The main focus is on the planned specification of Art. 5 CartA with regard to the offence of unlawful agreements affecting competition. Prof. Dr. iur. Peter Georg Picht discusses with Dr. iur. Astrid Waser, LL.M. (partner Lenz & Staehelin), Prof. Dr. iur. Andreas Heinemann, Dipl.-Ec. (professor at UZH, president of the Swiss Competition Commission), as well as Dr. iur. Werner Berg, LL.M. (partner Latham & Watkins).

 

Speakers

Andreas Heinemann

 

Prof. Dr. iur. Andreas Heinemann, Dipl.-Ec.

Professor at UZH, President of the Swiss Competition Commission)

 

Website

 

Werner Berg

 

RA Dr. iur. Werner Berg, LL.M.

Knowledge Management Counsel Latham & Watkins

 

Website

Astrid Waser

RAin Dr. iur. Astrid Waser, LL.M.

Partner Lenz & Staehelin

 

Website

LinkedIn

   

 

 

December 16, 2021

Driven by the Fair-Preis-Initiative Switzerland introduces, after lengthy discussions in Parliament, the concept of relative market power into its competition law, together with a ban on geo-blocking in the Act Against Unfair Competition. The new rules take effect as of 1 January 2022 and the Swiss competition watchdog (ComCo) has now published initial guidance on relative market power. In this CIPCast, Prof. Peter Georg Picht discusses these guidelines with Prof. Patrik Ducrey (Director of the ComCo Secretariat), Boris Kasten (General Counsel Global Legal Corporate & Competition at Schindler Group) und Felix Schraner (Partner IXAR Legal AG).

CIPCast Logo

CIPCast ist die Podcast-Reihe des Center for Intellectual Property and Competition Law (CIPCO) der Universität Zürich. In loser Folge greift sie, gemeinsam mit Expert:innen aus dem In- und Ausland, aktuelle Themen im Bereich des Wettbewerbs- und Immaterialgüterrechts auf – ein knappes, gehaltvolles Update für Wissenschaft und Praxis.

 

Die ganze CIPCast-Reihe ist verfügbar unter:

CIPCasts

 

 

CIPCast #2 - Motion Français März 2022 (01.03.2022)

 

März 1, 2022

Unser zweiter CIPCast setzt sich mit dem in Vernehmlassungsverfahren befindlichen Umsetzungsvorschlag der Motion Français («Die Kartellgesetzrevision muss sowohl qualitative als auch quantitative Kriterien berücksichtigen») im Rahmen der geplanten Teilrevision des Kartellgesetzes auseinander. Kommt es zu einer tiefgreifenden Änderung von Art. 5 KG und sollte das so sein? Prof. Dr. iur. Picht diskutiert mit RAin Dr. iur. Astrid Waser, LL.M. (Partnerin Lenz & Staehelin), Prof. Dr. iur. Andreas Heinemann, Dipl.-Ök. (Professor UZH, Präsident der schweizerischen WEKO), sowie RA Dr. iur. Werner Berg, LL.M. (Knowledge Management Counsel Latham & Watkins).

 

Referierende

Andreas Heinemann

 

Prof. Dr. iur. Andreas Heinemann, Dipl.-Ök.

Professor UZH, Präsident der schweizerischen WEKO

 

Webseite

 

 
Werner Berg

 

RA Dr. iur. Werner Berg, LL.M.

Knowledge Management Counsel Latham & Watkins

 

Webseite

Astrid Waser

RAin Dr. iur. Astrid Waser, LL.M.

Partnerin bei Lenz & Staehelin

 

Webseite

LinkedIn

   

 

CIPCast #1 - Merkblatt der WEKO zur relativen Marktmacht in der Schweiz

 

Dezember 16, 2021

Auf Anstoss der Fair-Preis-Initiative und nach langer parlamentarischer Debatte führt die Schweiz zum 1. Januar 2022 das kartellrechtliche Institut der relativen Marktmacht ein, gemeinsam mit einem UWG-Verbot des Geoblocking. Im Dezember 2021 hat die WEKO das erste Merkblatt zur relativen Marktmacht veröffentlicht. Prof. Picht diskutiert dieses im CIPCast mit Prof. Patrik Ducrey (Direktor des Sekretariats der WEKO), Boris Kasten (General Counsel Global Legal Corporate & Competition at Schindler Group) und Felix Schraner (Partner IXAR Legal AG) .